oh yeah

We canceled our cable tv years ago–gods, so long ago, it was before streaming video was even a thing. I was trying to figure out how to cut costs, and I said to my husband, “Look, its the cable tv or the cable internet,” and he chose the internet. That was 2002. We had Netflix, back when it was mail-only, and a massive DVD collection. I like to read. We made do.

In 2008 or 2009, we had cable again … briefly. For like a year–not even that, I think. I got pissed at the commercials and canceled it again. By that time, Netflix streaming had been around for a few years, and we’d just stream through the xbox console to the tv.

One thing that has always baffled me about cable tv, from the time I was a kid in a cable-free, basic programming house, was the notion that people paid for programming which contained ads. Ads, to me, belonged on non-paid content. Advertisements are supposed to be a way to make money when the user won’t pay up-front costs. The whole point of paying subscription prices is to avoid ads.

Anyway, recently I subscribed to another cable package (kinda)–the SlingTV thing. I’m kinda on the fence about it. On the one hand, I like Drunk History, Adam Ruins Everything, and The Daily Show With Trevor Noah.

On the other hand … oh yeah. I hate ads. And I hate not being able to pause the show when people in the room want to talk. And i hate having to worry about a program schedule.

I really loathe traditional tv. How did I forget that? Gods, it so super annoying.

Leave a Reply

