zodiac blah blah blah

Prompt: Your zodiac/ horoscope and whether you think it fits you.

I’m an Aquarius. According to Google, traits range from truthfulness, just, curious, affectionate personality, frank and imaginative to “negative qualities” such as unpredictable, detached, tendency to go off-track, and inefficient.

It also provides possible health concerns–apparently I must be very careful of any kind of addiction. I find that mildly hilarious.

On the Chinese Zodiac, I’m born in the year of the goat or ram or some such bullshit. Traits run the gamut of calm, gentle, creative, thoughtful, amicable, persevering, frank, and honest.

If I recall correctly, my blood type is O positive, which is what the Japanese use for fortune telling, so if we’re doing a prompt based on random bullshitty coincidental information … apparently my blood type means I am socially active, glib, and curious.

So, there you go. To recap:

  • Truthfulness
  • Just
  • Curious (x2)
  • Affectionate personality
  • Frank (x2)
  • Imaginative
  • Unpredictable
  • Detached
  • Tendency to go off track
  • Inefficient
  • Potential addict
  • Calm
  • Gentle
  • Creative
  • Thoughtful
  • Amicable
  • Persevering
  • Honest
  • Socially active
  • Glib

“Frank” has come up twice, so I guess that’s my new name. Notice how neither of these descriptions say that I’m rude or hot tempered, and the flowery praise bits are not only pretty inaccurate/ hit and miss, they completely neglect to mention “skeptical”?

No, I don’t think it fits. Not exactly. I mean, it does and it doesn’t–the pieces that fit only fit because of confirmation bias. Think about it: The entire list is nice traits. Even the so-called negative traits.

There aren’t negative traits like, “self-absorbed,” or “narcissistic,” or “borderline sociopath,” or “serial killer in the making,” or “born under the murder moon RUN RUN RUN.”

These are all traits you associate with creative artists and geniuses. These are traits that popular culture holds up as laudable, overall. Oh, this person is so detached and unpredictable. They have a tendency to go off track and do crazy things. Even inefficient is a term that sounds almost … artsy. And it’s so vague! Who, at some point, hasn’t complained about how they’re wasting time, or procrastinating. It applies to, like, everyone.

So, yeah. I mean, sure, some of the traits may apply to my personality at times. But this astrology bullshit irritates me almost as much as religious voodoo.

Leave a Reply

