Shut up, me

I went to another book club meeting tonight, and I left feeling frustrated and embarrassed with myself.

I have got to get my nervous ramble under control.

No-one said or did anything to make me feel bad; I just … talk too much, esp when I’m drinking or nervous.

I looked at my heart rate on my Up3 app and it was spiking during most of the club meeting.

I wish there was a way to pin my tongue down so I couldn’t speak, until it becomes habit. So I just listen, even when I have the urging rush to speak, interject, contribute, add something.

Perhaps doodling and note taking is the answer. Perhaps I should try that. It’s hard to speak when you’re taking notes in shorthand.

Leave a Reply

