Thanksgiving 2015

I forgot to do this yesterday. Instead of doing a big long post, or a gratitude for every month (like I’ve done in years past), I’m just going to hit the top 3 things I’m grateful for this year.

  • My family. My husband and I have been through hell and back together, and we made it through in one piece. He’s my best bud and partner in crime, and I adore that man. Also, he looks great in (or out of!) a pair of jeans. My son is clever and compassionate and wry and witty, and I am so proud of him and all that he is. I appreciate their support of my goals, and their presence in my life.
  • Finishing draft 1 of my book (and round 1 of edits!). I’m about halfway through the second round of edits. I know there’s a lot of work to be done, still, but I can see it taking shape.
  • My friends. I am very lucky and I have cultivated some truly amazing friendships over the past 7 years. I honestly don’t know who I would be today without the influence of these wonderful women, but each of them have enriched my life and influenced my world for the better.

It is a pretty basic list, but you know what? It’s the simple things that count. We live a pretty simple life, yet I realize that is a privilege in many ways. There are many people in this country who, sadly, lack even the minimal stability that we have managed to secure. So I am grateful for all of this.

~*~

My husband just came in and said, “Whatcha doing, baby? Writing a blog?”

I said, “Yeah. Keepin’ it short. I don’t want to meander on too long again.”

He said, “‘Thankful John’s finally selling all of his extra shit.'”

I started laughing so hard I choked on my laughter, and John left the room quite pleased with himself.

For context, while I was recovering from surgery in September, he began selling some of the accumulated detritus from various abandoned hobbies on Craigslist and eBay. He proved to have quite a knack at it, and this has become his most recent hobby.

One thought on “Thanksgiving 2015

Leave a Reply

