hot guys on motorcycles

A few months ago, there was a video of some chick in Russia riding her motorcycle, wearing nothing but a helmet, pasties, and crocs. I was underwhelmed and didn’t bother to share, because hot chicks on bikes getting hella attention is kind of par for the course in the motorcycle community.

In fact, it’s so common that when I typed the search term, “Russian woman on motorcycle,” to illustrate this entry, I got tons of hot women wearing little to no clothing who are on or near motorcycles — but not the naked woman in question. Then I realized I left the most important word out of that search string, and retried it, and she was the top result.

screenshot

I choose a screenshot lacking definition for a reason.

Anyway, as a straight-identified woman who appreciates hot people on motorcycles, I gotta admit: I get a little tired of the sexified chicks draping themselves on or around (and occasionally riding) these large sexy pieces of machinery. I mean, I’m not a big fan of objectification/ sexualization in general, but I do get it: Sex sells.

What I don’t get is why we don’t have more pictures of sexy guys on motorcycles. The proportion of women riders is increasing every year, and there have got to be plenty of bisexual and gay men who would also appreciate a little variety in the objectification/ sexualization associated with motorcycles.

Actually, I do get that. For the ads, motorcycle companies and dealers probably still see straight guys as their primary market, and the marketers think that sexy women are more likely to bring in customers than the motorcycle alone.

For the self-submitted pics/ videos, there’s a lot of complex psychological and social interactions going into the decision to sexualize oneself (or ones SO) for public consumption, but the long and short of it is that our culture has led to women who court the male gaze getting more positive attention by dominant portions of society than men who court the male gaze.

As a result, sexualized representations of men on motorcycles tends to be unofficial and tongue in cheek, such as the MotoCorsa MANigale series by photographer Alicia Elfving.

Can you imagine what the reaction would be if a similar photoshoot was done with regular gals drawn from an average population of riders? I can. Just like the MotoCorsa shoot, I bet some of the women would be incredibly attractive — but some would be overweight or otherwise not conventionally attractive, and I bet such women would be verbally eviscerated for everything from their weight to makeup choices to hair style by viewers inexplicably offended by ordinary-looking women in photoshoots.

Hell, the MotoCorsa shoot had a fair amount of body-shaming comments (as well as plenty of guys commenting on how gross it was and how they didn’t want to see half-naked people they have no attraction to draped over motorcycles … WELCOME TO THE FUCKING CLUB.)

"I am going to unsubscribe from this website because of this egregious replacement of women in tight clothing with men in tight clothing! How dare you!"

“I am going to unsubscribe from this website because of this egregious replacement of women in tight clothing with men in tight clothing! How dare you!”

"I humorously choose only to acknowledge only the existence of the motorcycle I want to ride and the woman I want to bone."

“I humorously choose only to acknowledge only the existence of the motorcycle I want to ride and the woman I want to bone.”

"I think pin-up shoots of women are representative of all women."

“I think pin-up shoots of women are representative of all women.”

“I think the social cache of riding a Ducati has measurably dropped by the association of semi-naked men with the vehicle.”

"I am going to attempt to humorously insinuate that these guys are gay for doing this. The humors relies on the assumption that being gay is somehow funny or offensive. Also, no homo."

“I am going to attempt to humorously insinuate that these guys are gay for doing this. The humor relies on the assumption that being gay is somehow funny or offensive. Also, no homo.”

Now, don’t think I’m complaining about this series just because it’s tongue in cheek — I still love it, both for the jarring social message and because some of those guys are fucking hot — but let’s face it. This was not meant to be an analogous photoshoot of, “They had a hot chick model posing, so we’ll get a ripped hot guy model posing.” This was, “They had a hot chick model posing, and we’ll do a photoshoot with regular guys around the shop in those same poses.” This was intended as tongue-and-cheek humor, and that’s largely how it was read.

humor 2

Because, clearly, when guys pose in suggestive poses it is mock-degrading and therefore self-deprecating.

humor 3

It is humorous for men to wear tight clothing and drape in sexy poses.

humor 1

There’s lots of social commentary that can be drawn from this, actually. There’s tons of stuff to say.

Now, don’t misunderstand me in my call for sexy men on motorcycles — I would much rather have no sexualization/ objectification, of women or men. But if everyone else has collectively agreed that objectification and sexualization is going to be par for the course in the motorcycling community, then I personally would just like to see more hot NSFW guys. Maybe Yamaha or Ducati could hire this guy.

Yum. That’s all I’m saying.

(also, the comments on Break.com, where I first saw this but cannot figure out how to embed from, are really depressing. http://www.break.com/video/naked-motorcyclist-dazzles-town-2556273)

Leave a Reply

