break time

I was going to post up more of my reading notes, but it’s late and I’m tired and the printer is being a butthead anyway, so I’m done with schoolwork for the moment.

I have to send my kid sister’s Christmas package out. I sent it to the wrong address and she was out of town anyway, so by the time she got to the post office to pick it up it was too late. They sent it back to me. Sirius smelled the foodstuffs inside and ate a corner off the package, so I had to repackage it, and I just haven’t had the chance to go to the post office. This makes me sadface.

On another note, after reading Overdressed I decided to stop wasting money on cheaply made chain-store clothing. For the last few months, John and I have only bought clothes from one of two sources:

  1. Second hand
  2. Union-supported stores/ made in America clothing.

The second one is in short supply, so we’ve mostly been purchasing second hand. I did get John some U.S. 100% wool socks, though. Anyway, I also (after reading that book) decided I wanted to invest in some clothing pieces — items of clothing that are well-constructed, made of durable fabric, and possess a timeless, classic fashion. Items of clothing that I can accessorize with belts, jackets, sweaters, scarves, tights, and jewelry to add variety to, but which remain a basic and necessary part of my wardrobe for decades. I invested in my first such item of clothing this weekend. It was $186 (tax included), but given the quality of the construction and fabric, as well as the fact that it is sweatshop free and I was supporting a local small business, that’s a pretty fair price. You have to be willing to pay a little more if you want workers to be paid living and fair wages, and this dress will last much, much longer than many of the cheap $20 ones I’ve gone through in the past. Also it was a birthday present to myself.

Oh, yeah, my birthday is coming up. LtB and dad bought me some used books on Amazon (she sent me an email explaining how this type of recycling is all the rage on the East Coast, which kind of made me grin because it’s all the rage here, too. It’s just, given how Amazon treats their employees, most people I know choose to purchase their used books through HalfPrice books, the Greener store, or Powells.) They also bought a NookBook for the Kidling, who’s birthday is about a week and a half after mine. LtB has been gleeful in her hints of what these books are, but is refusing to actually give titles, plot points, or author names.

I’m anticipatory and a little (a lot) nervous. Generally speaking, I don’t like other people to pick out books for me. With the exception of my brother and my husband, no-one has ever successfully picked out a book I like. The really frustrating part is that they’re often so very close to what I like — for instance, I like well-written YA paranormal with a romance plot that is not central to the book. So it’s completely understandable that someone would give me a paranormal romance. I like historical fiction and sci-fi, so it makes sense that someone would give me a steampunk book. I like dystopian fantasy, so it makes sense that someone would give me the Dark Tower series.

Unfortunately, all those gifts were off-base. I disliked them, and when I was asked my opinion on them I found myself in the uncomfortable position of having to lie politely to save their feelings, because they really were trying to do a nice thing. It is the thought that counts here. But I’m not a very good liar and I always feel so obvious when I try to lie about my reaction to a present. I just wish more people would give gift cards.

Anyway, doesn’t matter. I bought myself a pretty dress, we’re going out to dinner as a family next week, and we have an evening at Gameworks with friends planned. It’s shaping up to be a pleasant week.

Leave a Reply

