gratitude journal 11-13-12

  1. I’m grateful there are no classes next week, because it’s Thanksgiving week. Which means I’ll be able to focus on the two papers due instead of the weekly homework assignments.
  2. I’m grateful I have Thanksgiving and the day after off to spend with my family. And go to a doctor’s appointment, heh.
  3. I’m grateful I was able to go home at lunch and enjoy John’s company.
  4. I’m grateful John has decided to take split days off, so he’s watching Kidling and he’ll be home when I get home.
  5. I’m grateful Thanksgiving is a low-key, relaxing holiday for us.

 

Sometimes I miss the loud, rollicking holidays from having a big family, but I don’t particularly like the idea of actually caring for a big family year-round. Plus, I did a big, rollicky Thanksgiving with both extended families back in 2002, in the old apartment. It was awful and stressful and everyone complained about something. It was the worst hostessing experience I’ve ever had (and I’ve had some bad ones), and it kind of put me off ever hosting a Thanksgiving dinner again.

When I attend as a guest, I’m always disappointed by the food, atmosphere, and settings (which are nothing like mom’s), so in the end I’m happy to not have to deal with the traditional holiday as either a guest or hostess. I did invite some friends over, and if they come we’ll play video games and eat rotisserie chicken and watch movies. If they don’t, well, we’ll still play video games, eat rotisserie chicken and watch movies. And there will be pie.

Leave a Reply

