11 years today!

I’ll take back up posting a year-by-year marriage recap as of tomorrow. Today we’re all tired and sunburnt. I’m working on the year-by-year marriage recap entries, but I need to upload some photos or they’ll just be this wall o’text.
All three of us slept in today. John and I woke up to Sirius standing on top of us, panting into our faces. We usually put him out to go potty at 7 a.m., and we’d slept until 9:50 a.m. So we got up and John made coffee while I took a shower and got ready for the day. I applied for a job recently, so I wanted to go in to the store and check up on that situation before we took off on our family outing. After getting all showered, made-up, dressed, and coiffed, I went and made breakfast. I make the same (general) breakfast every morning, and it’s a great way to start the day:

Stovetop Oatmeal

2 cups water
1 cup old fashioned oats
1/2 tsp chia seeds
1/2 tsp flax seeds
3 tsp brown sugar
1/3 cup dried fruit (usually raisins/ cranberries/ strawberries)
Handful crushed walnuts

John and I eat this every morning. It’s super filling and healthy. I got the idea from Umpqua Oats. I read the ingredients list and thought, well that’s not hard at all, so I just started making my own version at home. I digress, though.
So we ate breakfast, then headed out to check on my application. After that was done, we went to the Family Fish Day at the city community center. Kidling caught 3 fish total; pretty decently sized. I actually killed/ cleaned a fish myself (yay, go mom!). By the end of the day, all three of us were tired and sunburnt. I went out to Costco and picked up this new Salmon Taco kit they’re carrying in the deli. It’s by Comida Del Sol, and we’ve been eyeing it since it came in. We decided to get it for our anniversary, and holy gods, it was yum! Then we came home and John and Kidling napped while I wrote. It’s been pretty much like any other day, except at random moments we grin at each other and say, “11 years!” or, “Happy stupiday!” or, “Happy anniversary!”
Leave a Reply

