Blogs, books, and video: Media to consume

Sometimes I don’t have the time (or, honestly, energy + inclination) to write a longer, more detailed post. So the other day, I was thinking about some of my favorite websites, articles, books, etc., and I thought I should start doing a list of recommended readings/ viewings based on what’s on my radar this week.

Blogs

Bitch Magazine has been doing a series on bisexuality in the media called Visi(bi)lity. They’re focusing a lot on male bisexuality, which I’m super pleased about given that the negative stereotypes perpetuated about male bisexuals (such as the claim that male bisexuals don’t really exist) caused some misunderstandings in my own marriage a few years back.
That said, they also address some of the stereotypes and misconceptions that follow female bisexuals, as well as negative stereotypes about bisexuals in general (like that all bisexuals cheat). I think it’s a really great series that should be read by everyone.
The Science of Relationships has a really interesting article about the pros and cons of changing ones name after marriage. This seems to continue to be a perennial issue, which kind of confuses me. I see it as pretty simple: If you can’t agree whose name to take, just make up a new one for the two of you. So instead of, say, John Smith and Jane Doe becoming:
  • Mr. and Mrs. Smith
  • Mr. and Mrs. Doe
  • Mr. and Mrs. Smith-Doe
  • Mr. and Mrs. Doe-Smith

I think going with a mashed together creation, ie: Mr. and Mrs. Smithdoe or a completely new name that appeals to something personal and unique about your relationship, ie: Mr. and Mrs. Awesomepants is ideal. John and I often have often discussed the things we would have done differently had we put off marriage for a few years, and the name change is one. We would have taken that opportunity for an easy, no-difficulties name change and gone with something awesome and unique to us. In the same vein of interesting relationship info, I really enjoyed this New York Times editorial about how studies show that cohabitation before marriage has a tendency to cause relationship failure. Did not see that one coming!

I just recently discovered Nerve’s Ridiculous Tips for a Miserable Sex Life, and I love it. It’s an ongoing series of articles spoofing the repetitive and unhelpful sex/ relationship advice circulated monthly by magazines such as Cosmo, Glamour, Maxim, and Men’s Health. Suddenly, these irritatingly repetitive and out-of-touch magazines vomiting out the same damn advice columns month after month have been rendered into comedy gold.

In fandom related reading, John is a big fan of The Walking Dead t.v. show. I’m thinking about reading the graphic novels, because I’ve been led to believe that the sexism so prevalent in the t.v. show isn’t nearly as bad in the graphic novels. Apparently, this has less to do with plot issues and more to do with the fact that the graphic novel medium allows for more nuanced and in-depth storylines.

In the meantime, I’m enjoying The Walking Dead less for the show itself and more for the fantastic fandom discussions of sexism in blogs like Irrelevant Comics. This entry in particular address both sides of the argument, ie: There is no sexism, women are just sensitive! and There is totally sexism, stop pretending it’s not there! 


Another really insightful read about bigotry in fandom is this Racialicious entry  about how fans react to black characters in popular shows, ie: Tara in True Blood, Martha in Dr. Who, and Guinevere in Merlin. Apparently (and this blew my mind, because I totally shipped Martha/ Doctor), there are people in the fandom who really dislike black characters for no apparent reason except they’re black — if a white character has a similar background/ education/ etc., they’re beloved. Slap that onto a black character, and rage. Blew my mind.
Anyway, John is falling asleep and I’ve got to get up early tomorrow to run some errands before volunteering. So that’s all for now.
Leave a Reply

