a funny (via reddit)

I just found this to be a funny coincidence, given that I’d just been ranting about Twilight, again. I’m really trying to amp down on that, given that a friend whose name does not start with D totally did not read Twilight and find to her shame that she actually kinda-sorta-didn’t hate it, and I really should not tease her mercilessly about that. (none of that made sense, did it?) Anyway, the funny coincidence. Someone posted this image on reddit, gleeful that Robert Pattinson was being flipped off.

Apparently the OP of that thread couldn’t differentiate between an actor and the fictional character he was portraying anymore than the average Twilight fan. Beyond that, the picture is apparently actually a still from his upcoming film, and not some random pedestrian flipping it to Pattinson for having the gall to enjoy a successful career. Anyway, so in the comments, there was a link about how Pattinson actually really, really dislikes the Twilight books. I was like, orly? and followed the link to find this quote:

In case you can’t read that little bitty writing, the quote is:

“When you read the book,” says Pattinson . . . “it’s like, ‘Edward Cullen was so beautiful I creamed myself,’ I mean, every line is like that. He’s the most ridiculous person who’s so amazing at everything . . . the more I read the script, the more I hated this guy, so that’s how I played him, as a manic-depressive who hates himself. Plus, he’s a 108 year-old virgin so he’s obviously got some issues there.”— Pattinson

At this point, I’m just stunned and delighted, because this is just the most hilariously honest assessment of a character I’ve ever read, and it’s the actor playing him who’s saying this. This movie made his career, and he loathes the character? And this openly? You don’t often hear celebrities willing to a publicly denounce a character that their entire fan base associates with them. Wow. So I googled Pattinson’s name along with Stephenie Meyer, and the very first result is a tumblr blog that has collected gifs and quotes of Pattinson’s (apparently many) interviews mocking Twilight. The second result was this interview wherein he calls Meyer “mad.” Direct quote:

“When I read it I was convinced Stephenie was convinced she was Bella and it was like a book that wasn’t supposed to be published. It was like reading her sexual fantasy, especially when she said it was based on a dream, and it was like, ‘Oh I’ve had this dream about this really sexy guy,’ and she just writes this book about it. Like some things about Edward are so specific, I was just convinced, like, ‘This woman is mad. She’s completely mad and she’s in love with her own fictional creation. And sometimes you would feel uncomfortable reading this thing.” — Pattinson

Pssst, Pattinson — Meyer’s isn’t in love with her own fictional creation. That would be ridiculous. She’s got someone else entirely on her mind. Either way, I 100% agree with you that reading her (poorly written) wet dream was a little too much information.

Waaaaaiiiiit a minute . . . I see what you did there!



And for the icing on this cake of Twihard fan-woe? Not only does Pattison neatly and concisely capture some of the more disturbing elements of Twilight, he can also recognize decent literature when he reads (or acts) in it:

I may have a slightly biased opinion on the whole
Harry Potter > Twilight debate.
Yes, indeed. RIP Cedric Diggory, the hero of Hufflepuff.
His hair is so much nicer as Cedric.
What’s up with that?
Anyway. I found this all especially awesome, given my post from earlier today. I’m just disappointed that my friends who actually follow celebrity gossip and media whatnot didn’t tell me this earlier, because those interview quotes are just so completely spot on.

Leave a Reply

