Sharing joy!

After reading this hilarious interview with the ridiculously out-of-touch RIAA CEO Cary Sherman, I felt inspired to share some of my current favorite songs. You’ll notice more than a few are about books. I like books.
We’ll start out with Lara Zielin’s Editing Letter. This was written and sung by an author, not a musician, so it doesn’t really count as discovering some new hidden artist. But I love this song, and it makes me smile every time I hear it, and it’s one I definitely would have never heard through the traditional RIAA method of dispensing music.
Next is Reading a Book, by Julian Smith. He’s actually a comedic singer-songwriter, but I love his stuff. It’s catchy and fun.
Followed by Horse Outside, by the Rubberbandits. They’re an Irish group, and another one that I never would have heard of or enjoyed if the RIAA had its way in “protecting” the music industry and deciding which music is worthwhile.

And one of my all-time favorites, F*ck Me, Ray Bradbury, by Rachel Bloom. I will never not find this video awesome, but I only know of it because of — you guessed it, the internet! I doubt this has ever even played on a radio station. 🙂

Last but not least, the best love song in the world, If I Didn’t Have You by Tim Minchin:
Leave a Reply

