eenie meenie miney mo

I read this article over at Lifehacker. Basically, it says that the more choices we have when making a decision, the more difficult the decision appears to be, so we instinctively assign more weight to the decision — which is why (apparently) people can occasionally find themselves in the store aisle trying to decide between toothpaste or cat food brands for 20 minutes.

I don’t do that. I have two methods for making up my mind when it comes to everyday purchasing decisions.

  1. Food/ drinks/ candy: Look at the unit price, buy the one with the lower unit price.
  2. Everything else: Either buy the one I’ve researched before coming to the store, or look at the two I’m torn between and rattle off, “Eenie meenie miney mo, catch a tiger by it’s toe, if it hollers let it go, and you are not it.” Sometimes I’ll add, “My mother said to pick the very best one and you are not it.”
The beauty of the eenie meenie miney mo method is that since it’s a stupid rhyme and I’m an adult who can make up my own damn mind, the moment I finish the rhyme I know which item I really want. If I’m pleased, I’m like yay! And I buy it. If I’m disappointed, I’m like, “Oh, hey, so I really wanted the other one.” And I get it.
I think they must be over-exaggerating in that article. I can’t imagine anyone standing around for even 5 minutes trying to decide if they should get Crest or Colgate. That’s just . . . sad.
Leave a Reply

