quintessential american holidays

It’s that quintessential American tradition, Thanksgiving, in less than two days.  I’ve never actually been a fan of Thanksgiving, I have to admit.  It’s not because I’m all counter-culture or anything.  I mean, I do have serious issues with the whole reason behind it, but that came later in life, as I learned my history.
No, it’s just that I’ve never liked the day, even as a small child.  The house getting all crowded up with people, everyone expecting me to be all social and nice, having to deal with all that annoying noise.  The food that was all gross that I had to eat – like turkey and stuffing and cranberry sauce (although I loved the black olives, but dad always limited us to three a plate).
It’s just not fun.
My parents would always invite the new family in the ward over, or the missionaries or somebody like that.  Our relatives all lived in Utah, Idaho and California, so they would do their thing over there.  The two families on the block that we were really tight with did their own Thanksgiving thing with each other – we were always invited, I think, but for some reason never participated.
So we did this family thing with a bunch of new strangers, every year.  Super boring.
When John and I got married, I pulled out all the stops in year one and tried to bring both families together.  It was stressful and annoying and I forgot to thaw the turkey in time, so it didn’t finish cooking until around 5 or 6 pm – and for some reason, Thanksgiving dinner is the only dinner in the entire country that is absolutely expected to be served around 1 or 2 pm.
Anyway, over the years, I’ve just sort of let it slide.  John’s family usually does their thing (his parents are truckers and rarely in town; his sister generally spends it with her husband’s side and maybe comes over for dessert), and my family does their thing (my brother spends it with his wife’s family, my sister in E. Washington does something that has never involved inviting us and I’ve never asked).
John gets the day off, so it’s usually a nice, relaxing day that the three of us spend playing video games or watching a film, eating easy-to fix food or take-out, and just generally relaxing.
This year, we were invited to a friend’s place in Seattle.  A traditional Thanksgiving dinner sounded like an interesting change of pace, and we wouldn’t be doing any cooking – plus, they’re a childless couple, so it would just be the 5 of us.  But their fridge broke, so it looks like we’re back to basics.
It’s going to be cool.  I feel bad about not being able to hang with our friends that day, but on the flip side, it’s been a pretty stressful month thus far.  At least now I have a week to catch my breath before diving into December.
One thought on “quintessential american holidays

  1. Huh. That's really interesting. We always have David over, so I figure it would be super awkward to have you guys, too. I do think about it, though. Honestly, I don't like Thanksgiving, either. It's a day off where you can't do much and your main focus is gorging yourself on food you don't usually eat, anyway. I'm not a fan of turkey. I tried to avoid all the leftovers last year by getting a turkey roll. I sure got reamed for that one! 😉 ("Who has a turkey roll on THANKSGIVING?" "It's all the bad stuff smushed together like a sausage and wrapped in netting.") Thanksgiving is not all it's cracked up to be.

Leave a Reply

