something about this time of year . . .

It’s kind of funny, in a not-ha-ha way, actually.  I see a lot of blog posts talking about how they “love autumn” and how this is a “beautiful time of year,” and it is, kind of.  I can see that.  I remember when I used to feel that way, and maybe my reasons for disliking the onset of colder weather is a little morbidly unique (thanks, mom).
But I think it’s more than my mom dying late August of 2003 (thereby ruining late summer and early fall for years after).  I think it also has to do with my house being flooded two years ago, with torrential rains threatening my home with another potential flood last year.  I think it has to do with the way the rain lashes the windows, whipping angry and wet with the wind, or when it’s calm out, everything drips monotonous and endless.  A water-torture augmented by a depressing horizon-to-horizon sky of slate-grey.
I suppose this is singularly depressing, and I hadn’t meant it to be.  I’m sorry for that.  I actually meant to comment on how I found it a little amusing that the blog writers who purport to love this time of year are updating less.  Perhaps it’s because they really do love this time of year — perhaps they’re out running about, frolicking in colorful piles of crisp autumnal leaves.  Somehow my dour mind imagines less enjoyable, more mundane pursuits.
Anywho, I’ve found a few fun sites to tide me over until Editorial Ass, Pub Rants, Editorial Anonymous, OkTrends, Query Shark and Voice of Reason begin updating properly again.  How likely is it that all my favorite blogs stop updating round about the same time?
The fun sites are, in no particular order, Letters of Note (from the site: Letters of Note is an attempt to gather and sort fascinating letters, postcards, telegrams, faxes, and memos.)  The originals are photocopied/ scanned onto the computer.  In some cases, they were found on another site (usually a historical one) and the blogger posted them up, as well as a link to the original site.  I’ve already spent several hours poring over communications ranging from a letter Beethovan wrote to his brothers to an irate memo penned by Hunter S. Thompson to a movie producer.  There’s a letter pre-“Origin of the Species,” by Darwin and a letter to a young pen-pal from Mark Twain.  There are copies of the Son of Sam letters, and letters regarding The Beatles and Elvis.
It’s an amazing blog, really.
Second fun site, the art of g c haymes: skymail.  This artist basically sent out a letter to a bunch of famous people — writers, photographers, musicians, etc — and asked them to describe the sky on the pre-paid postcard he enclosed.  He made an exhibit of their responses (28 total).  I found this site particularly intriguing because as a freshman (or sophomore?  I can’t really recall), I once went around my high school with a lined sheet of notebook paper, asking random people to describe what laughter would look like.  I actually still have that sheet somewhere — I should find it, scan it and post it up.  I recall that more than a few people said it would look like bubbles.
Third site, more interesting to me as a psychological study.  The Curious Life.  I didn’t explore the rest of this site, so I can’t speak for what’s on the rest of it.  But this particular link should lead to a page detailing how in the late ’90’s a Mr. Geerhart apparently (posing as a young child) wrote letters to notorious public figures of the day.  This included imprisoned murderers as well as respected politicians, so quite a variety.  In any case, I found these interesting because I almost felt that the criminals knew what was going on and were purposefully screwing with Mr. Geerhart.  Except for the Unabomber, who just came across as an okay guy.
Leave a Reply

