i’m a bookish sort of girl, in a bookish sort of world

So I previously mentioned an event some of my favorite authors would be speaking at.  Well, that was this weekend.  Wordstock, an annual two-day literary festival, was held in the Portland Convention Center.  Cover charge, $5.  And me?  There.
Yeah, baby.
It was awesome.  We arrived a little later than I’d hoped, but about when I’d expected.  Does that make sense? I wasn’t driving, and I didn’t want to be a nag.  Anyway, we arrived at about 12:33, which was about 43 minutes after when I wanted to arrive — because noon was when Scott Westerfeld began speaking!!!  Still, arriving when we did allowed us to listen to the last 28 minutes of his speech, and something is always better than nothing!
He wasn’t actually talking about the Uglies trilogy, though.  He was actually promoting Leviathan, his new book, which sounds totally awesome.  It’s fully illustrated, even though it’s mid-to-upper grade, and it’s a mythical re-telling of WWI.
Yes, I totally bought it.  Well, I totally sent my sil Nels over to buy it while I waited in line with her friend Mandy to get Uglies signed.
Anyway, as he was signing Uglies and Leviathan, I mentioned that I’d heard about the event through Sarah Rees Brennan’s blog, and he said, “Oh, she’s right here.  You should talk to her.”
As in, right there.  Behind his table.  Right.  There.  So I actually did talk to her.  I don’t remember much of the conversation — I tried really hard to be coherent and sound intelligent, but I’m not certain how well I succeeded.  Anyway, she signed a copy of The Demon’s Lexicon and chatted with me for a bit about bad boys in fantasy, the vampire phenomenon, and the idiocy of Twilight.  (I said, “My mom always said, if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.”  Then we both kind of laughed and hmmm’d.  It was awesome.)
Then my friends and I wandered for a few hours.  Bought coffee, bumper stickers and a magazine.  Picked up a load of free books and colored bookmarks at coloring station.  Also typed from word prompts on very old-school typewriters.  And finally, at 3 p.m., it was time for Sarah Rees Brennan to speak.  Turns out she shared her hour with a Laini Taylor, who (turns out) is a brilliant writer and everyone needs to go out and buy her books now, buy them, buy them!
(What are you doing reading this when you can be reading Laini Taylor and Sarah Rees Brennan?  Go!  Buy their books!  Run!  Buy the books!)
Anyway, they were both very funny and clever.  They read excerpts from their books, gave writing advice and shared funny stories.  While I still admire Rees Brennan greatly, Taylor’s bright pink hair and rather more useful (for my personality) writing advice has me bookmarking her blog as well.
I think I have two girl-crushes now.  Except that Taylor’s husband has illustrated her books, and I love love love these illustrations, so it’s more like a girl crush and a couple-crush.  Is that possible?  I don’t know.  All I know is that these books?  Are love.
books:
Leviathan, Scott Westerfeld
Lips Touch: Three Times, Laini Taylor (illustrated by Jim Di Bartolo)
magazine:
bitch no.44
Leave a Reply

