more books and a signing!

Recently, I’ve been reading quite a few editorial and author blogs.  This is partly because I want to keep abreast of what’s going on in the industry — learn about digital rights, how the face of literature as we know it is changing, what editors and publishing houses are looking for, that sort of thing.  It’s also because who better than those within the industry to give me a heads-up on the must-have books of the day?
Because of these blogs, I’ve started reading in amounts I haven’t since before I was married.  This may also have something to do with the fact that my son is now in school and I have lots of free time.  I’ve also started buying books, rather than simply waiting to check everything out from my local library.  I still support my local library, don’t get me wrong.  But I like owning shiny new books and when we have a little extra cash on hand, I don’t see anything wrong with buying books that come highly recommended and that I’m extremely interested in.
Anyway, I bought some more books after the last post.  This time, I went to the aforementioned Book N’ Brush.  I bought Stargazer, by Claudia Gray and Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman.  I mentioned Stargazer briefly in my last post, but I don’t think I mentioned the fact that it’s an unusual book for me to like.  It technically falls under what I would normally call, “Vampire Lit,” and therefore would avoid at all costs.  But I actually like it.  I’m still trying to figure out why — I think it’s maybe because instead of telling the story from either:
  • the p.o.v. of the mortal, tormented by his/her fear or love of the immortal
  • the p.o.v. of the vampire, tormented by their eternal damnation

Gray instead uses a p.o.v that makes the character extremely relatable and likable.  Anyway, the Evernight series was originally recommended via a livejournal post by Sarah Rees Brennan, who wrote The Demon’s Lexicon, another book that I thoroughly heart.

This is the beauty of industry blogs, I might add — through author, editor, agent and intern blogs, I’ve found recommendations to books that I normally wouldn’t have looked at twice.  The Demon’s Lexicon and the Evernight series are two great examples.  Another neat thing about industry blogs?  I learn about what’s going on in the world of the books I love.  For instance, Rees Brennan, the author of The Demon’s Lexicon, is joining up with Scott Westerfeld (of Uglies fame, which I still need to read) for an author tour.  Which will be hitting both Portland and Seattle!!!!
*squeeeeeeee*
Okay.  Sorry.  Let me just pat my hair back into place and straighten my shirt.  Jumping up and down like that gets me all ruffled.  Anyway, yay!  I will actually get to meet an author!  Two authors!  And I own (at the moment) one of their books!  Trust me, by the time the event(s) roll around, I’m going to own more than a few of Scott Westerfeld’s books.  I’ve heard really great things about his work.
I may actually get an author-signed book!  Yay!
Portland author schedule
Saturday, Oct. 10, 2009
Westerfeld @ noon, Rees Brennan @ 3:00 p.m.
Presentation and Q&A at Wordstock, Portland’s Book & Literary Festival

Location: Oregon Convention Center

7:00 pm presentation and signing at Barnes and Noble
Book N’ Brush Purchases

Stargazer by Claudia Gray
Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

Also mentioned in this post:

The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan
Evernight by Claudia Gray
Uglies by Scott Westerfeld (Which I haven’t read yet.  The tagline is: “Is a world of extreme beauty, anyone normal is ugly.”)
Leave a Reply

